Digital Nomads Aren’t So Different

Amber Rose Monaco
The Pursuit of Starting Up
2 min readDec 21, 2015

--

I’ve been a digital nomad for 33 days now. While it hasn’t always been easy, it is quite….familiar.

Why?

Because I’ve been working since I was 15. The day-to-day life of a digital nomad isn’t entirely different from any other workerbee. The only difference is that we, the digital nomads, get to make all of the choices about our day. But, wholly, the days are the same:

~ I still set my alarm to get up at a semi-normal time. (Otherwise, I’ll sleep until 2pm. Seriously.)

~ I work on the projects where deadlines are coming the soonest.

~ I still go to lunch around noon.

~ I still play on social media, YouTube, or clickbait websites when I’m feeling unmotivated.

~I still wonder if I should get up and walk around or pretend to look busy at my desk.

~ I still get candy in the middle of the day.

~ I still do the crossword.

~I still leave when I’m hungry and ready for dinner.

See?

The days are basically the same. The only difference how I construct my day from a time perspective, like when I arrive and leave. I get to choose the project I’m working on; I also get to choose which projects I’m discarding. I get to choose every moment of my day, which can be a blessing and a curse.

I think people forget that I have a job because I’m leading this type of lifestyle. Yes, I still have a job, and I still value productivity. Yes, I have projects that I can’t just move. Yes, I need to have butt-in-seat for at least 5 hours of the day.

I’m not on vacation. In fact, it’s quite the oppostive. I’m hard at work….

I’m a digital nomad.

I’d love it you followed this publication, by clicking the “follow” button. And, it would mean the world to me if you would recommend this publication. All you have to do is click the little heart icon.

--

--

Amber Rose Monaco
The Pursuit of Starting Up

Community Manager at Bridge Space; Aspiring Homesteader | writer and scuba diver