BIG DAY!

Exactly one month ago, I quit my job.

Amber Rose Monaco
The Pursuit of Starting Up

--

One month.

In that time, I sold everything, packed up two bags, and cashed in my one-way ticket to SE Asia.

Wow.

I’m not even going to pretend that it’s been easy. The whole process has been more difficult than I ever imagined. Leaving Washington DC was hard. I had a great network of friends, and it’s such a great city. Leaving a job that pays you no matter what was hard. Did I like the job? No. Did I have great colleagues? I sure did. Leaving behind a life that I spent the last 8 years building was tough. I love that city. I love those people. I just didn’t love who I was.

I think the hardest part, so far, was the bus ride to the airport. That was when my decision really hit home. I was alone. I was in charge of my heavy bags. I was going into the unknown. I didn’t know what else to do but cry. I cried on a bus full of strangers. Then my mother called, and I cried more.

I was overloaded with emotion, and a month later, I still have all of those emotions. I am so happy with my decision. I am so sad to leave my friends. I am so excited to see the world. I am so scared of what could go wrong. I am so encouraged by all of the people around me who are doing the same things am I am. I am so unsure of my next steps.

The good news is that the hardest part is behind me. I am less scared of the unknown and more in the mindset of simple adaptation. I am thrilled at the opportunity to see more of the world. I am facinated to discover how my business is going to be shaped. I’m eager to see what my life holds for me after this year of exploration. I wonder where I’ll live next or what I’ll do. I cannot even begin to predict what will happen with my business.

But remember, it’s only been a month. And honestly, that’s not very long. I’ve barely had time to adjust to the weather, and I definitely haven’t had the time to process everything fully.

One this is for sure, I do not regret my decision to quit my job. I do not regret being bold. I do not regret travel.

The unknown is staring me in the face, and for once, I think I’m ok with that.

I’d love it you followed this publication, by clicking the “follow” button. And, it would mean the world to me if you would recommend this publication. All you have to do is click the little heart icon.

--

--

Amber Rose Monaco
The Pursuit of Starting Up

Community Manager at Bridge Space; Aspiring Homesteader | writer and scuba diver