It Gets Easier

(As does most things in life)

Amber Rose Monaco
The Pursuit of Starting Up
2 min readDec 9, 2015

--

Unlike yesterday, I had a really productive day in the office. I worked on a LinkedIn post that is going live tomorrow and worked on podcast stuff.

As I’ve mentioned, I’m starting a podcast in the near future. It’s going living the first week of February, so in the meantime, I’m doing a ton of prepwork on my end. (Nothing about being an entrepreneur allows you to move quickly, so I thought I would start now….in early December.)

I’m reaching out to potential guests, getting signed up with all of the right platforms, and thinking of themes. I’m actually having a lot of fun with it.

Last week, I sent out my initial set of requests to potential guests. That’s right, I cold-emailed 10 people to tell them about my upcoming podcast and asked them to take a risk on me: the newbie.

I was scared. Nervous. Vulnerable. Fear of rejection consumed my thoughts. Fear of being ignored completely was even worse. I hit send anyways and went home for the night. (Kindergarten Cop was on my Thai TV, so the night didn’t end badly.)

Today, I did the same thing. 10 more cold-emails to 10 more strangers. I followed the same method as last time: I told them about my idea, warned them that I was new, and I asked them to take a chance on me.

This time though, it was so much easier. I breezed through this task in about 90 minutes. That’s right — I spent almost 10 minutes per email, personalizing each one so that my potentilal guest doesn’t think I’m a flake. I do my homework, and I wanted them them to know that.

90 minutes is drastically faster than the 8 hours it took me last week.

As with anything in life, once you do it, you become more comfortable. Sure, all of those fears are still there, but there are much more quiet. Fears of rejection and being ignored may never dissipate, but I’m not going let these fears stop me.

If you are working on something and you need to ask for help from other people, it’s ok to feel a little nervous. The good news is that it does get easier.

Keep trying.

Keep going.

Make your dreams happen!

I’d love it you followed this publication, by clicking the “follow” button. And, it would mean the world to me if you would recommend this publication. All you have to do is click the little heart icon.

--

--

Amber Rose Monaco
The Pursuit of Starting Up

Community Manager at Bridge Space; Aspiring Homesteader | writer and scuba diver