Life as an Entrepreneurial Tourist in Thailand

Amber Rose Monaco
The Pursuit of Starting Up
2 min readDec 14, 2015

--

When I first started this challenge, to write daily in December, I had ambitious dreams to come into the office every single day, NO MATTER WHAT. I am dedicated to being an entrepreneur, and I’m going to prove that (to myself and others) by spending my time in my coworking space.

Sometimes that plan is quite effective, but other times, as you well know, that plan is ineffective. There are days that I’m uber-productive and days that I watch YouTube.

Then there are the days where I participate as a tourist in Chiang Mai, Thailand, my home for the next month. So far, I’ve had two of these days. The first days was when I went to the Elephant Sanctuary, and the second was yesterday.

Yesterday, I met up with a group of people from Facebook, and we went to Bua Thong Sticky Waterfalls. It was an hour outside of the city, and the perfect day trip. These waterfalls aren’t exactly sticky, but they aren’t slippery.

YOU CAN HIKE UP THE WATERFALLS.

I’ve traveled a bit. I’ve been to 26 countries. I’ve never seen anything like this. It’s very strange to hike UP waterfalls without the fear of drowning or falling and hitting your head. #nofun

I’ll post more about this on my blog, but the entrepreneurial lesson is this: take a day off and go be a tourist. The work will be there. But having an experience like this only comes around so often.

I feel like Jesus.

I’d love it you followed this publication, by clicking the “follow” button. And, it would mean the world to me if you would recommend this publication. All you have to do is click the little heart icon.

--

--

Amber Rose Monaco
The Pursuit of Starting Up

Community Manager at Bridge Space; Aspiring Homesteader | writer and scuba diver