Why Being the WORST at Follow-Through is Ok

Amber Rose Monaco
The Pursuit of Starting Up
2 min readDec 17, 2015

--

When I started this 30-day Medium challenge, I had the best of intentions. I was going to write every, single day about the struggles and successes of my first full month as a full-time entrepreneur.

Well, I kind of suck at this project.

I’m not even going to lie. I suck at all things like this. I never do well at challenges, but I always set them for myself. Why? Because I *love* the idea of a challenge. I love the idea of getting in the habit of doing something over and over. I love the feeling I assume I would have if I finished something.

But, I don’t have to do it perfeclty. It’s my challenge, after all. And, if I decide to take a day off or forget or decide that I don’t have anything interesting to say, then fine.

I get to make those decisions.

Why?

I’m the boss.

I’m a full-time entrepreneur.

So, ha.

But, I don’t want to be bad at follow-through. I was to be good at it. I want to be the type of person who CRUSHES goals. I want to look back on projects and think of how I was successful just because I completed it like I said I would.

So, there’s only one thing to do.

KEEP TRYING.

Even though I’ve missed a few days, I written most of the time. Even though some days were rough, I still think about the challenge. And, no. I’m not going to give up just because I don’t have a perfect record.

Why?

Becuase I want this. I want it bad. I have a lot of personal motiviation to make my business work, and that means I have to keep going even when it’s not perfect.

Being the worst at something isn’t terrible.

Quitting when you hit a roadblock….that’s terrible.

I’d love it you followed this publication, by clicking the “follow” button. And, it would mean the world to me if you would recommend this publication. All you have to do is click the little heart icon.

--

--

Amber Rose Monaco
The Pursuit of Starting Up

Community Manager at Bridge Space; Aspiring Homesteader | writer and scuba diver