All Good Things Come in C’s: Swim Captains Coltrin & Cooper

CB
The Quaker Campus
Published in
5 min readFeb 23, 2024
Photo of women’s swim team, adorned with flowers, smiling at the camera.
Swim and Dive has one of the longest seasons of all sports teams. | Courtesy of WCPOETS.COM

Born in Florida and raised in Phoenix, Arizona, fourth-year Grace Cooper started swimming at a young age. “Those were the top two states for drowning,” she recalls with a chuckle, “So my parents put me in swim lessons at eight months [old], and when I was seven, I was like, ‘Oh, this is fun,’ and I just continued.” The following year, she began swimming competitively, continuing on in high school. “My parents said I had to have a hobby […] and I hated running,” Cooper explains with a laugh, “So I tried out for a swim team, and I liked it, [so] I just continued having it as a consistent activity every day.”

Similarly, third-year Nick Coltrin also began the sport at a young age. Hailing from Livermore, California, the captain started swimming competitively at seven years old. “I stuck with [swimming competitively] until around middle school, and I took five years off just to try something else,” says Coltrin. Although he explored other sports, such as water polo, surfing, and even lacrosse, Coltrin would take breaks from the pool. “I’ve kind of had a love-hate relationship with [swimming],” he muses, “I’ve always loved the water, but I’ve tried so many different sports.” Despite his time off from the water, Coltrin’s love for swimming continued in high school, where he again picked up the sport.

Looking back at their early swim careers, the captains reflect on those who have supported them throughout their swimming journeys. “I would say my biggest supporter was definitely my mom,” Coltrin states. “She pushed me the hardest, in swim and sports in general, because she was an athlete.” Like her son, Coltrin’s mother was a diver and a gymnast as well. “I think she wanted to push that on because it’s important to be a part of something.”

For Cooper, it was her coaches that helped her continue to swim. “I had some really great coaches when I was young,” she says. One coach that stood out to her the most was her best friend’s father. “So it was just like, ‘Oh, I get to hang out with my best friend every day,’ and then he became a huge supporter of me,” Cooper continues with a smile.

Alongside their coaches, the captains agreed their teammates are equally as essential in their support systems. “One of the main reasons I’m enjoying swimming is the team itself,” Coltrin says with pride. “It’s like waking up and having a team look forward to hanging out makes it a thousand times easier actually to go to practice and enjoy swimming,” he says enthusiastically. With practices starting early in the morning and ending late at night, having a strong support system builds a foundation.

This close family dynamic helps the teams power through intense practices throughout the season. Being one of the sports with the longest seasons, the team had practices at the end of August in preparation for their first meet in October. Practices are held every morning, from 6 a.m. to 8 a.m., either swimming or lifting weights followed by swimming. After classes, the swimmers head back to the pool every Tuesday and Thursday afternoon for another three hours of practice. Coltrin notes they also have practice on Wednesday afternoons once they reach the “bulk of the season.” The team is in their taper phase, or resting period, before their upcoming meets.

Due to COVID, both the Men’s and Women’s teams were “very new.” Although the Women’s team lost a few members, which affected the team due to their small number of members, they were still able to pull through. “It was hard, but it happens,” Cooper says. “We’re still friends with them,” she adds, “but from a swim point of view, it was hard.”

Despite this, looking back at this past season, Coltrin states, “It’s been pretty good.” Compared to his previous two seasons, this has been his favorite so far. He mentions that his teammates are what made this season so great. Cooper points out that since they have swimmers from different grade levels, each swimmer brings their own level of experience to the team. “When we say ‘team,’” she explains, “we mean both [Men’s and Women’s swim].”

Coached by Michael Jafari, both Men’s and Women’s swimming practices are held together, allowing both teams to spend time and connect with each other. “We don’t get time apart, “ Coltrin adds. “That creates this tight-knit community, and […] it’s just fun.”

Originally, Coltrin had no plans on being swim captain in college, saying he was “so chill” in high school. “I kind of got thrown into it,” he says. During Coltrin’s sophomore year, no male juniors or seniors were left on the team. “So kind of by default,” Coltrin says, “I had to do it.”

For Cooper, being in a leadership role was nothing new. She was also the swim team captain in high school and was a pool manager over the summer. “I’ve always kind of been placed in leadership positions,” she says. “So when Jefari offered me it, I was like, ‘Yes, I want it.’”

As student-athletes, it can be difficult to manage both classes and sports. “[It] creates this discipline,” Coltrin says in reference to balancing his classes with practice, “It really adds to your character.” Cooper shares the same sentiment, stating it also helps with job searching. “I’ve […] talked to recruiters, and the biggest thing they’re looking for are people who have teamwork experience, leadership skills, and time management,” she says, “Being able to take what I’ve learned from swimming and apply it to the real world is huge.”

When asked about their thoughts on being the leaders of their team, Cooper confidently states, “It’s epic.” With their friendly demeanors and confident attitudes, both captains are able to form connections with their teammates while understanding their coach’s standpoints for the team. “It’s a nice standpoint,” she says, “So we’re a good middleman,” Coltrin adds that Cooper is good at being straightforward with someone if needed, whereas he has a gentler approach. “I definitely got to step up in that department,” he chuckles. “[…] I definitely have a lot to learn.”

Although both captains have good connections with the rest of the team, sometimes finding a balance between being a leader and a friend can be difficult. “Sometimes it’s hard because […] I want to hang out with people, they’re like, ‘Oh, you’re my captain,’” Cooper says. Coltin shares a similar sentiment with his fellow captain, stating that it can occasionally be difficult at times trying to be seen as a leader by his peers.

When asked about their goals for this past season, both captains shared similar goals for the team. “We really wanted to create an environment where not only do people love being in the water, but [also] genuinely enjoy being together,” Cooper shares.

With the season coming to a close, both captains are hoping to lead their teams to a strong finish. Their upcoming competition for the SCIAC Championships is from Feb. 22 to Feb. 25. Be sure to show some support!

Photo Courtesy of WCPOETS.COM

--

--