De-Stress with the QC!

Emily Henderson
The Quaker Campus
Published in
4 min readApr 26, 2024
Stock photo of a woman in a white robe, white towel in her hair, white face mask, and cucumbers on her eyes. Another hand is holding the cucumbers on a plate, and placing one on the other woman’s eye.
Finals season is stressful. | Courtesy of Anna Traver

Before students can bask in the sunshine, warm weather, and the luxury of no homework, they have to go through the most dreaded time of year — finals season. With tests and essays piling up, one may need to relax in order to not explode from the mind-boggling stress they are experiencing. So, the Quaker Campus has compiled a list of our favorite de-stress activities for this busy time of year.

Emily Henderson (Editor-in-Chief)

I am truly never fully relaxed thanks to the anxiety, but to help me calm down, I like to take everything showers. I turn off any overhead lamps, light some candles, put on spa music, and give myself some much-needed TLC. Remember, if you aren’t dehydrated and a bit dizzy after an everything shower, you aren’t doing it right.

Sarah Licón (News Editor)

Like Emily, I don’t “truly” relax because I’m always worrying about something, and I hate staying still because I feel unproductive. But in order to de-stress, I like to lay down and become addicted to a new TV show or book. Just to escape my responsibilities for a little bit. And sweets. Sweets are my number one de-stressor. Right now, it’s cookie-dough ice cream.

Meylina Tran (Arts & Entertainment Editor)

I am a huge believer in turning off your phone and disappearing for a couple of hours — or even the whole weekend! In that time, I catch up on movies and TV, do my personal reading, and sleep. It may sound incredibly depressing, but it is an essential part of my de-stressing routine. If I don’t get that weekend to myself, beware.

Jonathan Bermudez (Opinions Editor)

When I’m overwhelmed with school and work, I like to sit down in my quiet room and play my acoustic guitar. Maybe I try to learn a song, or I just play stuff that comes to mind. It’s been a stress reliever for me since high school, and I love it.

Chelsea Bartilad (Features Editor)

Lately, dancing to music has been relaxing. Specifically throwbacks. Who needs Coachella when you can throw a concert in your own room?

Anna Gaber (Head Copy Editor)

To de-stress, I like to put my phone on DND, completely clear my desk of any work, turn off the lights, and play around with my DJ mixer/set. I find that mixing and remixing songs just tickles my brain the right way, and it gives me a big sense of satisfaction when I end up creating a really good-sounding mix. It gives me complete and total freedom of expression that I can also share with my friends.

Olivia Nunez (Staff Writer)

Finding time to de-stress is almost impossible around this time of the semester with softball and school, but on an off-day, my sister and I will go on a hike in Laguna Beach. It’s one of our favorite hikes because the drive is beautiful, and we listen to music and sip on a matcha. The hike itself isn’t hard, so we take our time and enjoy the beautiful coastal scenery, especially at sunset. Breathing fresh air, clearing my mind, and spending time with my favorite people are the ways I attempt to feel some stability in the midst of chaos.

Ashley Seger (Copy Editor)

To help with the stress of finals and whatever else I have going on, I find an episode of Grey’s Anatomy and a cup of lavender tea do the trick for me. If that doesn’t work, I drag my friends to the little toy store in Uptown, The Wishing Well, and buy a Jellycat or a Calico Critter, because when all else fails, retail therapy is there for me.

Emma Galvan (Copy Editor)

When I want to de-stress, I often do it by taking a nice hot shower. It’s calming, and the steam relaxes my brain so much that I forget about the world around me. Afterwards, I put on comfortable clothing and just lay down on my bed, listening to history podcasts. I don’t know why, but there’s something about them that makes me feel calm.

Nune Papikyan (Photographer)

My favorite way to wind down when I’m stressed out is to listen to music and dance around. There’s just something about movement and melody that really allows me to settle down a bit and be in the moment rather than thinking about every problem and task that I still have to do.

Photo Courtesy of Anna Traver.

--

--