Friends, Baseball, Snoopy: A QC Summer

Jonathan Bermudez
The Quaker Campus
Published in
2 min readAug 21, 2024

--

Photos of the QC staff at a dodger game, beach, concert, and Knott’s Berry Farm,
Our QC’s staff memories!|Courtesy of Chelsea Bartilad/Quacker Campus

As we begin our first day of school, we at the QC like to reminisce about all the things we got up to while being away from campus.

Anna Gaber (Editor in Chief):

“Obviously, my favorite part about this summer was relaxing. I didn’t get the chance to do that much because of my internship and other responsibilities, but when I did, it was heavenly. Although, whenever I had free time, there were moments when I still found myself thinking about work. My days off mostly consisted of going to the beach and swimming, going out with friends, and spending as much time as I possibly could with my cat because she is all I think about when I’m away from school.”

Chelsea Bartilad (Interim EIC & Deputy Editor):

“I spent a good chunk of my summer binge-watching TV shows. Some of my favorites were Netflix’s Derry Girls and the sports anime Haikyuut! Both healed me in ways I didn’t expect.”

Jonathan Bermudez (Managing Editor):

“I spent most of the summer trying to fight off this insane heat, I feel like I am going to become liquid at any point. But other than that, I went to Knott’s [Berry Farm] multiple times with my girlfriend. Me and her go feral for Snoopy!”

Sara Martinez (News Editor & Head Copy Editor):

“The best thing I did this summer was paying my car registration on time.”

Emma Galvan (Campus Life Editor & Head Copy Editor):

“My favorite thing about this summer was being able to work on a small project I’ve been doing with some friends for a couple of years now and, by extension, being able to reconnect with said friends due to our conflicting schedules during the school year.”

Olivia Nuñez (Sports Editor):

“This summer was full of baseball games, beach days and concerts in the humid night air. Despite the sweltering heat, my sister and I became pickleball experts, and found new hiking spots before cooling down with smoothies. My favorite moments were the sunsets at the stadium, the relieving ocean breeze and the captivating quiet of a good book. As excited as I am about the upcoming school year, I’ll miss the 40-hour week paycheck!”

Lucy Campbell (Opinion Editor):

“My favorite thing I did this summer was seeing my favorite band, M.t. Joy perform live at the Red Rocks Amphitheater, my all-time favorite concert venue in Colorado, with all of my best friends.”

Priscilla Corona (Staff Writer):

“[My] favorite thing I did over the summer was go to Tokyo, Japan. We went to Disney[Tokyo] and Universal[Studios], it was great.”

--

--