Photo by shawnanggg on Unsplash

Getting Stranded In An Airport Terminal

Szilárd Mátis
2 min readMay 25, 2024

I rarely travel, but when I do all the shit goes down.

I had the pleasure of being stranded in Munich’s airport terminal due to a missed connecting flight. Due to a 30-minute delay in the first flight, it was not possible to make to the next connection.

I wrote this article from a very uncomfortable chair, surrounded with snoring people in the same situation. This is my first night in an airport like this.

A movie called Terminal came into my mind, where the main character was stranded in an even worst situation. Because of some issues in his country, he was unable to enter the US.

Victor Navorski reaches JFK airport from a politically unstable country. Due to collapse of his government, his papers are no longer valid in the airport, and hence he is forced to stay in the airport until the war cools down. He makes the airport his home and develops a friendship with the people who work there until he can leave. — Keith Francis

It is hard to imagine to live like this movie hero, to be far away from our loved ones.

--

--