I submitted an abstract to SciPy for the second year in a row… Here’s why.

Christian McDaniel
The Quarks
Published in
4 min readMar 3, 2019
Source: https://scipy2018.scipy.org/ehome/299527/648140/

When I touched down in Austin, TX the day before SciPy 2018 was set to begin, I had no idea of the transformative experience that awaited me. It was the end of my first year in a Master’s in AI program at the University of Georgia, and this was my first computer science-related conference. I was accepted to present a research project I’d been working on, and about the only thing I expected with any confidence was a medley of upturned noses and dismissive chuckles from anyone reading over my poster (yay for imposter syndrome!).

The main conference kicked off that night with an opening reception in the lobby of Enthought, the company that hosts SciPy in the US. In the lobby I found a room full of academics and professionals of all ages and interests. I’m sure the free tacos, cool merch and home-brewed beer helped, but I was quickly immersed in the culture of SciPy and open science, and knew I belonged.

My conversations that night and over the next three days shared some common themes central to what SciPy stands for: genuine interest, humility and inclusiveness, happiness and encouragement.

There was a shared interest in scientific programming that garnered real conversations and mutual understanding about each others’ work, with a potential for gaining or providing relevant insight along the way.

Whether I was speaking with a local high school student learning to code or the literal person who wrote much of pandas, no one was boastful or trying to establish their knowledge or rank. From administrative policies to the content of presentations, there were major efforts from the top down to ensure equality and inclusiveness.

Finally, from that opening reception to the bitter, tired end, the buzz of kindness and excitement was as palpable as the constant smell of fresh coffee in the hallways. If SciPy emanates one message, it is to tell each attendee that he or she is capable of accomplishing greatness, including the ability and aptitude to be a contributor to open science.

Did you catch my earlier mention that I spoke with a core contributor to pandas? This is what SciPy is all about. Over the weekend, I shared a table with an integral member of the jupyter notebook developers; I had a beer one night with a top committer to the numpy repo; and I sat in on a whiteboard session where the folks who ran pandas discussed its current projects, roadblocks and future.

I mention these fan-guy moments to point out the unique occasion provided at SciPy, where developers from all walks of life and all levels of experience get thrown in a room together.

Source: https://www.slideshare.net/kammeyer/the-joy-of-scipy

Over the weekend I gained an insight into how open science is made possible and maintained, and I learned so much about all levels of the python language. I talked with professors and postdocs working on fascinating research problems, and picked the brains of professionals in industry about how I could apply my skills after grad school. I even made friends and colleagues I still keep in touch with. Still, perhaps best of all, I had the opportunity during the Sprints to make my own contribution to the open source community.

I’ve been to several conferences since SciPy, and while I haven’t been to many of the other larger computer science-related conferences, I feel confident that SciPy offered me something quite unique.

I learned a great deal and witnessed cutting edge research and projects; but more importantly, I felt like I gained a spot in a welcoming community and I left with a renewed sense of hope and vigor about my schooling and career going forward.

For these reasons, I eagerly submitted my research to SciPy for the second year in a row and plan to get my “SciPy fix” for years to come.

Source: https://www.scipy2019.scipy.org

Hope to see you there.

--

--