Pride

Clay McInnis
The Quarterly Check Up
2 min readNov 3, 2016

Pride is an inwardly directed emotion that carries two antithetical meanings. With a negative connotation pride refers to a foolishly[1] and irrationally corrupt sense of one’s personal value, status or accomplishments, used synonymously with hubris. With a positive connotation, pride refers to a humble and content sense of attachment toward one’s own or another’s choices and actions, or toward a whole group of people, and is a product of praise, independent self-reflection, and a fulfilled feeling of belonging.

Hubris and humble are used to describe the same word? How could there be more of a dynamic word in the dictionary. Talk about a two sided coin. Pride is what keeps me from apologizing. Pride keeps me from forgiving. Pride is what attracts offensive thoughts and people to me. Pride is what keeps me from being the husband I want to be.

I’m proud of my marriage. I’m proud of my wife. I’m proud of my son. I am a prideful, grateful and humble man. God has blessed me, but when I think of pride I think more about the paragraph above. “What keeps me from being the best husband” type of pride.

I want to leave a lasting legacy for my family, wife and kids. I have to be willing to let go of my pride in order to do that. Don’t let pride win…don’t let it overcome your ability to be the husband you want to be.

--

--