How Starbucks Became an Office Space for Remote Workers

Elizabeth Ivanecky
The Quasi Luddite
Published in
8 min readJan 30, 2019

--

A team of remote workers busy finishing their work at Starbucks.

When I first started working as a remote writer, I spent the first few weeks trying to find my rhythm. Working from home for the majority of the day became both physically and emotionally exhausting.

I was in dire need of a new office space. A change of scenery.

I spoke to a good friend of mine who also works remotely and he told me that the best place to work at is Starbucks. So, when in Rome, do as the remote workers do.

For a few months afterwards, I would swing by the local Starbucks from 8–12, have lunch and then work from home for the remainder of the day. Though it wasn’t until I cracked a joke with one of my mom’s friends that I knew what Starbucks was to me.

When Karen asked me what I was doing at Starbucks, I said, “I’m just finishing up another article. You know, the usual day at the office.”

As soon as I said the words I knew that Starbucks officially became my office space.

And then I started taking a good look around me and realized that I wasn’t alone. About half a dozen others were taking client calls or sending messages via Slack groups on their laptops.

That’s when I got to thinking. I worked at the local Tim Horton’s café down the street from me and noticed parties of jovial…

--

--