velazquezchile.tumblr.com

Goodbye to the Person I Was

Lance Tolentino
The Queer Lens
Published in
1 min readOct 30, 2020

--

1:40 am, I can’t sleep
waiting for the lullaby of the night
to knock off this temple
and to hug this fragile core.

1:43 am, still writing
eyes are nailed on the screen
putting thoughts into words
settling feelings into poetry.

every turn of the ocean sky,
I couldn’t help but think,
what if I’m another person?
what if I disguise
the guy that has been happy before

1:53 am still not sober from
the idea of change
of transforming through magic
turning into cat, that say meow in silent
while I the dog once barks in loudness.
this could be a season
where I will find myself
caged in my own cage.

I felt like, If this will be the now,
it will be my melting point
a metal so strong before,
but now a hot-blooded liquid
with no one dares to touch me
so it will be safe for me
to become invisible
just to get lost from the ones that I love
and to the ones that will come
because, after all, I’m afraid.
afraid of being attached again.

2:02 am, I wanted to cry.

--

--