What’s Left is a Question Mark

A poem of the unknown — love.

Lance Tolentino
The Queer Lens
2 min readJan 31, 2021

--

Here are the things that I remember:
Milk tea; you love it
it’s in your blood, actually
it’s a tea of a thank-you-the-class-is-over-for-now
Oh, I recall, I was watching you drink it,
facing each other,
beside us was a wall
a wall who heard our stories;
of dreams, of love, of issues.

Pork Sisig; it’s a date
when I brought you there once,
it became our constant sweat haven
chilling after working out
on piled up papers
since you’re a guy,
with closed pockets,
it is indeed a heartfelt,
when you treat me a Sisig
And the reason? I,
helped you in Math Quiz
Too unlucky, My phone got stolen
for we had a picture of us two,
smiling in a reflected mirror
a smile who awaits to enjoy that Sisig.

Smile; awfully beautiful
with metals on your teeth,
with red pigment spread on your lips
I was happy when you are smiling;
laughing, and laughing,
until our breaths can’t hold our stomachs.

January; you knew that I have depression
scary, for you might judge me,
or ridicule the roommates on my mind
too much overthinking of what ifs,
but you, a guy from far away,
told me and said, you’ll be there
whatever it is that the tides dictates
I thought I was lucky, well,
I was.

Summer; we were melting
Our friendship was
an ice cream fell on a sunny street
the us of us was in a verge
of collapsing in no time
I blamed quarantine,
for it ruined us
but as I was pondering,
a shot of rush of thought:
maybe I was the one who’s at fault?
maybe he was right; that I was too much
that I am a lioness
living in a herbivore society
though, my friends told me that:
It was not my fault;
a thing beyond control.

Period; I thought you left me a period
Both of us saw our ending,
of two boys met in Manila
But you let go;
you lost your grip,
from a bow,
that arrows my heart
it bleeds not blood;
but untangled memories
of milk teas, of Sisig dates,
of friendship.
We have separated lives already
but still intersected

All you left was a period;
I was wrong.

What you left is a question mark:
have you ever loved me?

--

--