Poem: Sentimental Fool

Phianna Rekab
The Quench
Published in
1 min readSep 8, 2019

by Phianna Rekab

image from Pixabay

Hats, mugs, tambourines, salt and pepper shakers

Spoons, ticket stubs, dinner napkins, golf balls and pictures

Sentimental things I’ve cretinously attached feelings

Miniaturized landmarks, sea shells, whatamajigs

Post cards, wall plaques, a rock-n-roll wig

Trinkets once prized now I’ve forgotten what they mean

T-shirts, music boxes, snow globes, plastic totes

Hotel keys, wine flutes, a fluffy bath robe, folded poncho

Holding onto knickknacks collected from every place I’ve been

First glances, first smiles, first touch, first kisses

Farewells, stairwells, church bells, text messages

Memories that do not contribute to my well-being

Candles, picture frames, trophy from a championship game

Bell bottoms, tequila shot glasses, dried flowers, a defunct last name

How can one be such a memorabilia feign?

I pack and wave to them as they embark on their own little sight seeing

Everything goes, except for one little nostalgic thing

I’ll give it back whenever I see him

Copyright 2019 Greenstone. All Rights Reserved.

--

--