Big News

Mischa Willett
Notebook
Published in
1 min readSep 9, 2016

Phases

A little bit ago, I posted about my new poetry collection, 10+ years in the making and how I was ready to send it out. I’m excited, deeply humbled, a little giddy and a little scared to say that it’s been picked up for publication this year by Cascade Books. I sent to them because

  • they’re based in the Pacific Northwest (and if this book is set anywhere [other than Rome] it’s set here
  • they have a small, carefully curated poetry roster, including Luci Shaw, Paul Mariani, Brad Davis, and Jill Peleaz Baumgaertner: poets I admire, all
  • they published Joel Heng Hartse’s Sects, Love, and Rock & Roll, which I adore.

I’m calling it Phases, because it’s more moon-y and map-like than self-concerned and confessional. Currently, I’m busy culling the manuscript of weaker poems and adding in some newly finished pieces that better fit with the press series. More “Sir John Donne” than “Jack Donne, rake,” if you take my meaning.

I’ve just had the news so it’s all a little dizzying right now, but watch this space for (sporadic, non-spammy) updates. Meanwhile, rejoice with me!

--

--