The year with two winters

Alessandra Pereyra
The quick brown fox
2 min readJan 1, 2016

These are some of the things that happened this year, without any order, agenda or criteria.

  • Managed to only live four months in Perú.
  • Spend seven of the rest in Mexico, and one in the US.
  • Raised some money. And then some.
  • Threw out several shoes and some clothes. It’s something that happens when you travel abroad for a bunch of months and forget to stop buying new things when your luggage was already full.
  • Had my heart broken. Several times. But still, managed to go on.
  • Met great people. Awesome ones. Personal heroes, and new friends.
  • Lost some friends. But it was ok, since I’m a different person now.
  • Got reconnected with some of them. This was great, for they are great, and they shine their light onto me.
  • Cried. Cried a lot.
  • Earned some weight.
  • Lost some of it. Working on the rest.
  • Bought books. Less than a hundred but more than sixty. Learned to live with the fact that some of them live for now in Mexico, and the rest travel with me.
  • Walked under heavy rain for several minutes. That was fun and something that I don’t look forward to do again.
  • Cried more. A breakup hurts that much.
  • Met myself. Became happier.
  • Tried deep-dish pizza. I’d try it again.
  • Ate a five-cheese calzone. It’s why I’m going back to Boston. Almost.
  • Bought new things I don’t need and some I need. But I needed all of them to keep going and kept a float.
  • Started growing a new team and a business. Learn so much. Forgot some things I was doing wrong. Came up with new concepts.
  • Experience winter twice. Expect to do it again next year.
  • Wrote a bit. Not as much as I wanted, but enough to not lose much practice.
  • Travelled Miami and Boston. Loved the latter. Could live without the former.
  • Lost someone. This sucked. Greatly. Enough to make this the worst year ever.
  • Learn so much. Did so much. Grow so much. Enough to make this the best year ever. Kinda. But not that much. The previous item really did a number.
  • Learned to use an oven. That was cool. Maybe it wasn’t that bad of a year.

--

--

Alessandra Pereyra
The quick brown fox

Products Builder. Problem solver. Loves reading, writing and a good wine. Writes when the time is right.