Psalm 119 ז ZAYIN — Call Me By Your Name

A Ballad

--

A woman with long blonde hair against a light blue background, clasps hands below chin as if in prayer. Her head is tipped back and her eyes and closed. She is wearing a grey and black embroidered shirt, and a pink skirt. There is a cloud of sparkles around her.
Image by Thanks for your Likes from Pixabay

The haughty proud on every side
Hold me in great disdain.
They say I can’t be who I am;
They ridicule my pain.

Your Word is comfort to my soul,
And You have been my hope.
In the midst of trial and strife,
You keep me afloat.

My foes provoke me night and day,
But I remember You.
I sing Your songs of love and peace:
The storm fades into blue.

I meditate upon Your heart;
I have not turned aside
And, though they claim that I am lost
With You I still abide.

Because I have remembered You
This has become my claim:
You gave to me Your holiness;
You call me by Your name.

Esther learned to read when she was four years old, and began writing shortly thereafter. She is a queer Christian poet, crafting with words to create art and music.

Enjoy my work? Buy me a coffee!

--

--