Psalm 26 — Try My Heart

A ballad

--

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Test my mind and try my heart:
You’ll find my conscience clear.
I will not sit with hypocrites;
Your judgement I won’t fear.

I trust in You; I will not bear
With those feign and lie,
Who claim Your Name while damning me,
Who’d rather I just die.

They don’t set love above the rest
In which they find me flawed,
But I have led a blameless life,
And I know love is God.

Test my mind and try my heart:
You’ll find my conscience clear.
I will not sit with hypocrites;
Your judgement I won’t fear.

They thirst for blood and evil schemes,
Their hands are full of bribes.
I stand before Your altar, Lord,
Your pure and spotless bride.

Test my mind and try my heart:
You’ll find my conscience clear.
I will not sit with hypocrites;
Your judgement I won’t fear.

Esther learned to read when she was four years old, and began writing shortly thereafter. She is a queer Christian poet, crafting with words to create art and music.

Enjoy my work? Buy me a coffee!

--

--