Psalm 37 — The Wicked in Great Power

A poem in iambic heptameter

--

A wisp of smoke against a black background.
Image by PublicDomainPictures from Pixabay

They glory in their influence, spreading like a tree;
They lurk and wait to catch me out, hoping to end me;
They borrow and do not repay to gratify their greed;
They take from all without remorse although they have no need;
But like the splendour of the meadows dewy in the sun,
The riches they laid up shall disappear when morning comes
And, like a wisp of smoke that fades into the evening sky,
Their legacy will dissipate without a mourning sigh,
But I will share the little that I have, and I will give
To those who need it more than I do, so that they may live,
And You will guide my steps, O Lord, for You are my delight:
Your righteousness and justice shine like noonday in the night;
The peaceful, patient, gentle ones inherit Your bequest:
The destitute and helpless, persecuted and oppressed;
While rich and powerful who use the powerless and poor
Shall find their swords pierce their own hearts; they fall and rise no more.

Esther learned to read when she was four years old, and began writing shortly thereafter. She is a queer Christian poet, crafting with words to create art and music.

Enjoy my work? Buy me a coffee!

--

--