Psalm 61 — My Hearth and My Home

A bearded person with wings, resembling the traditional image of Jesus. A halo of light surrounds his head.
Image by Ria Sopala from Pixabay

From the end of the earth when the waves overwhelm,
I will trust in the shelter of Your loving wings.
Lead me to the Rock that is higher than I;
Let me bathe in the stream of Your gentle Wellspring.

I will cry out to You, oh my Hearth and my Home
For You are my Partner, my Helpmate, my Lord.
In the vows that we made, we’re forever espoused;
I am Yours; You are mine; all my years You’ve restored.

I will reign as a king by Your side through all time;
You have gifted the birthright of Heaven to me
As a dowry of mercy and truth to preserve
My life in Your Name throughout eternity.

So I will sing praise to Your Name, God, forever
And daily fulfill every promise I vowed,
Abiding with You in the Light of Your Glory,
Together forever in bright golden crowns.

Esther learned to read when she was four years old, and began writing shortly thereafter. She is a queer Christian poet, crafting with words to create art and music.

Enjoy my work? Buy me a coffee!

--

--