Psalm 62 — Power Belongs to God

A Ballad

--

Preacher standing on stage holding a Bible in a dark auditorium.
Photo by Memento Media on Unsplash

I will not trust in dominance,
Or hope in thievery.
I put my trust in You alone:
To You belongs mercy.

With their mouths they bless You, Lord,
But in their hearts they curse.
Like a shaky barricade,
Their piety’s a farce.

Their words are sweet like honey, but
Are bitter gall inside.
They are a vapour and a lie;
An undiscerning guide.

I will not trust in dominance,
Or hope in thievery.
I put my trust in You alone:
To You belongs mercy.

God, You will give them their reward:
They’ll reap what they have sown.
Good trees cannot produce bad fruit;
They yield what they have grown.

I will not trust in dominance,
Or hope in thievery.
I put my trust in You alone:
To You belongs mercy.

Esther learned to read when she was four years old, and began writing shortly thereafter. She is a queer Christian poet, crafting with words to create art and music.

Enjoy my work? Buy me a coffee!

--

--