Psalm 91 — Under the Shadow of the Almighty

An English Sonnet

--

A woman with wings sits at the base of a tree, one wing curved over her head. A dove flies over her. In the background, a stone arch rises from a rocky field. In the sky, the sun breaks through the clouds.
Image by Stefan Keller from Pixabay

I am your hiding place, your sanctuary:
If you abide with Me, beneath My wings,
I’ll keep and cover you; your shield I’ll carry,
And you will not have fear of anything.
Don’t be afraid of threats that walk at night
Or enemies come to lay waste by day.
I will arrest the hostile arrow’s flight;
The pestilence from you I’ll keep away.
A thousand, ten times more, may fall beside,
But I will give My angels charge o’er you,
And in My dwelling place you shall abide.
I will exalt you; I will e’er be true.
You’re Mine and I am yours, this I proclaim:
I love you and I call you by My Name.

Esther learned to read when she was four years old, and began writing shortly thereafter. She is a queer Christian poet, crafting with words to create art and music.

Enjoy my work? Buy me a coffee!

--

--