Matthew Querzoli
The Quintessential Q
1 min readMar 21, 2018

--

Dear Man Who Picked up a Bottle on the Seat Next to Me,

The staff of Sydney Trains usually cop a lot of shit. To be fair, shit needs to be copped, but often the copping is received by the employee that has nothing to do with the fact that the train is running late, or has has been altogether cancelled. But I shan’t give you shit to cop because how much shit can you give when you lift that piece of garbage off the seat next to me with a smile on your face, despite knowing that that could have been me that had just discarded it there.

Sure, it’s your job. I get that. But to go around and have a laugh and a chat with someone that may have made your job harder takes a particular resilience. Especially when your job involves, more often than not, adversarial customers from a frustrated populace.

And so, legend, I wish you all the best with you and your life. Wherever you may end up, even if it’s at Sydney Trains for your remaining working years, I wish you well. And I hope that one day you’re repaid in kind.

Preferably, not just one day, but everyday.

Cheers mate,

Q

P.S. I promise that wasn’t my bottle. But I still should’ve picked it up.

Matt Querzoli wrote this. He met a good bloke the other day.

--

--