from POEMS ARE THE ONLY REAL BODIES

by Jennifer Tamayo

Bloof Books
The Quotidian Bee
1 min readOct 8, 2015

--

YOUR ART CONTROLS YOU BY PUTTING YOU DOWN ALL THE
TIME, IN PUBLIC AND IN PRIVATE. THEY MIGHT MAKE
OFFENSIVE JOKES ABOUT YOU IN PUBLIC, PATRONIZE YOU,
INSULT YOU OR MAKE RUDE SOUNDS WHILE YOU TALK.

Dear Ms. Ross,

a internet tells me your skull was cracked as a child
a internet tells me my birthplace
a internet shows me your hard-edged stare repeated hysterically
a internet lists out your many names

there’s a pleasure in these violences

when I see these things I feel in a Barbara Kruger way, Harriet

EVERYTHING
ALL
OVER
MY
FACE

this narrative violence that history imposes

you were you

I was I

The thick membrane of this happenstance; I’ll put my crack on it.

from POEMS ARE THE ONLY REAL BODIES
(read the full chapbook online for free)

Also available in Bloof’s first 6-in-1 chapbook collection, Bound.

Poems Are the Only Real Bodies (Bloof Chapbook, 2013)

--

--

Bloof Books
The Quotidian Bee

Little. Yellow. Different. A collective poetry micropress.