That Outfit Is Smart Because It References Pamela Des Barres

Gina Abelkop

Bloof Books
The Quotidian Bee
2 min readNov 18, 2015

--

I walk

like a bent eye

On the road
at night

I pass

them by ….. Soft
statues lit artificial

know
to wait

Solicitous eye
passing through
with bad face ….. Acrid breath

dead flower smell dead

flower water
greening
in the vase

….. ….. ….. ….. ….. ….. ….. Purple atop

I give in to my bed
to my dog
licking blood from blue sheets

try to write the dream
where I paid

in credit

at the 1940s store

left with three big hats baby
blue leather shoes ….. Embarrassed
to go home

admitting

I’d only traveled back
to shop ….. Truthfully

that is what I’d do ….. What else
would I do

but meet people

Feel the difference

in the air ….. shop

From I Eat Cannibals
Available from co•im•press
& Small Press Distribution

Gina Abelkop is the author of I Eat Cannibals (co.im.press, 2014), Darling Beastlettes (Apostrophe Books, 2012) and Trollops in Love (dancing girl press, 2011). She is the founder and editor of Birds of Lace, a DIY feminist press born in 2005 and currently based in Athens, GA.

NOTE: Please read the [….] here as white space. Medium (alas) does not allow us to code variable spacing unless we post the work as images (which can create issues for mobile users and text-to-speech readers). We have asked for a workaround, but in the meantime use the dots as the best compromise. — QB

I Eat Cannibals (co•im•press, 2014)

--

--

Bloof Books
The Quotidian Bee

Little. Yellow. Different. A collective poetry micropress.