The Day I Picked up His Banner and Walked With Him

The beginning of one mother’s journey as her son came out as transgender.

MaryRose Denton
The Rainbow Affect

--

My son is twenty-three this year. Five years ago, at the age of seventeen, he came out as transgender.

It was on a rainy, Northwest day my teenage child, then known as my oldest daughter, drove off in the old Toyota. A family car no longer used. My child was setting off for a new college experience. Flying the nest.

The back seat and trunk stuffed full of boxes and belongings obscured my view of my oldest heading down the road and away from me. I worried about the visibility out the back window. I silently worried over the three hours of driving between our home and this new school.

Of course, I also mused; Would my child fit in and make friends at this new school? Will my child be happy there?

I never worried about gender. The idea of transgender, my oldest daughter truly being my son, never entered my mind.

--

--

MaryRose Denton
The Rainbow Affect

Writer/Speaker/Advocate, Come join me as I make a life by doing something with total love & pure soul. maryrosedentonwriter.com or maryrosedenton8@gmail.com.