The Anatomy of an AI Art Prompt

Regina Paul
The Rainbow Unicorn
5 min readSep 18, 2022

--

Or How to Craft a Better Prompt

When I first started playing around with AI art generators, I wasn’t very impressed. If you read my last article Who Else Wants to Be Successful With AI Art? then you got to see one of my first attempts. It basically looked like sort of blobby fairies in a forest. But then Stable Diffusion came along and dang, what a difference that made!

So, here’s the thing, you’re still going to create kind of “blah” stuff if you don’t know what you’re doing when it comes to the words you’re using to craft your prompt. And if you’re not “specific” enough, the AI Art generator seems to almost get confused and just guess what it is that you want.

So, I thought something that might be useful to those who are trying to figure out how to create beautiful AI art, would be to give you some ideas on how to craft excellent AI art prompts.

One of the first things I figured out is, as I mentioned above, to be very specific. So for example, let’s say you want to create a piece that is a portrait of a beautiful woman for example. In this situation I might craft a prompt like the following, “beautiful red-haired woman, green eyes, portrait, realistic, hyper realistic, acrylic painting”. Here’s the result the first time I used this prompt, not bad right?!

AI Art created in Night Cafe by Regina Paul.

--

--

Regina Paul
The Rainbow Unicorn

Author, artist, intuitive. I write about AI, publishing, making money online, creativity, and spirituality. Twitter @reginapaul E-mail regina@reginapaul.com