IS IT REALLY AS EASY AS RECITING THE ALPHABET?

Abecedarian? I’m Not Going to Write One of Those, Am I?

What is that, you’d say? Well, it’s as easy as A-B-C.

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
The Creative Collective

--

Photo by rivage on Unsplash

All I know is that I’m not for doing pointless exercises. Because I just feel like the point is missed if you force it. Can you imagine if I did that abecedarian thing and was good at it?

Denial, that’s what I would have.

Even if I were to manage a decent paragraph, it would just be gibberish. Frankly, I think that the exercise is asinine. Good writers don’t write abecedarian. Helping others in writing is what’s important. It seems that this is more of a fun write, not anything I or my readers would take seriously.

Just because you can do it doesn’t mean that you should. Keep thinking of other ideas to do instead, it would be a better use of our time. Let’s think of something more productive such as solving a Sudoku or playing a cooperative game.

Maybe, we can ask other writers for some ideas. No one would even think that this exercise is anything remotely close to a good idea. Only beginner writers will fall for this. Paragraphs shouldn’t be 26 sentences long anyway, that’s much too long of a block of text to read.

Question is, can you make anything like that good even if it seems cohesive? Really makes you wonder if people just throw these together because they’re bored. Stupid games win stupid prizes, in my opinion.

This exercise certainly doesn’t hit the top of my priority list, I’m getting ready for Medium Day. Under all of this anxiety, I’m finding myself feeling a tad bogged down even thinking of both things. Very, very pointless, I tell you. When I decide to write one, I’ll let you know but not likely anytime soon.

Xenophobia is a very real thing, look around you and see for yourself. You would know it if you were more social. Zooming through the idea that an abecedarian would help break my anxiety and writer’s block but as I mentioned before is just whatever, what are your thoughts?

--

--

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
The Creative Collective

Gay, disabled in an RV, Cali-NY-PA, Boost Nominator. New Writers Welcome, The Taoist Online, Badform. Owner of International Indie Collective pubs.