I Celebrate PRIDE because of two men

Who showed me a loving home protects the community

Margie Pearl
The Creative Collective

--

PRIDE flag with hearts
Photo by Ian Taylor on Unsplash

I don’t need a special month to celebrate Pride.

I do it by remembering the great people who supported me when I needed it and didn’t know it.

As I was growing up, many people in the (LGBTQ+) community invited me into their lives and their homes to show me what a loving home could be like.

Their orientation didn’t come up until much later — decades later when we ran into each other and had enough life experience to talk more openly.

I had no idea people could love in so many ways. I began hearing the sniggers in junior high and getting more confused when I heard the answers. More importantly, why ruin the chance for friendship by being judgmental?

I’ve learned there is no such thing as too many friends.

  • A good friend helps you heal when life gets rough.
  • A good friend stands by you when your luck or your love runs out on you.

And if favor shines upon you, it turns into love.

Meet my neighbors J & B

Where would I be today, were it not for the kindness of strangers who turned my neighborhood corner into a community?

--

--