TRAVEL CENTER STORIES

On A More Serious Note, We Were Told To Leave This Week

I came back from my long, sleepless trip and day to find out that they “appreciated our business” but were no longer allowed to “let us stay”

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
The Creative Collective
4 min readJun 21, 2022

--

Photo by Brent Cox on Unsplash

A travel center is where large 18-wheel trucks, RVs, and autos stop on the highway in America when they need to sleep or rest. These places will have restaurants, a store, showers, a laundry, and sometimes a movie room or a lounge for drivers and travelers.

We’d been spending $50-$100 a day in there while we were parked far in the corner away from everyone under a tree and not bothering anyone and they hadn’t asked us to leave before that and had encouraged our business and knew that we respected them and made a lot of pleasant relationships in the building with the workers. They considered us a part of the family there.

All we were trying to do an hour ago was buy some snacks and dessert for the food we got today. We also bought a shower and some fuel for our generator. We spent money today despite already spending quite a bit in town. Almost unprompted, as we were going to the shower, the general manager, who is new at the position and is a man we hardly ever interact with or even talk to, tells us that it was time to go.

I’m not mad at him. I just didn’t want to have to be asked. We were going to leave on our own terms already. We were getting everything ready for our departure. We’ve spent over $8,000 in the short time we’ve been here at the travel center. 3 1/2 months and making sure we’ve covered every base, respected every employee, and never caused a scene.

I didn’t even cause a scene today when he told me. I think he was expecting us to because I’m sure he thinks that’s a human reaction he can take advantage of and find a reason to force us out earlier. I saw the look of surprise on his face when I remained calm and steady and said, “Sure, when should we start leaving?”

I think that this threw him off so much that he obliged my request. “How about by the end of the weekend? That seems like a reasonable time to depart.” Sure, the weekend, it’ll be cooler and will give us more time in case we need it.

Mike was quick to jump to say tomorrow or Thursday but I quickly and sternly stared him down and asked him if it was such a great idea to push ourselves out of here. The general manager respectfully agreed with me and said that the end of the weekend would be fine. He told me that corporate for a while now has been wary of people overstaying their welcome.

I guess I understand this if this were actually the case. I’m a little wary of this coming up now. I think that one of the employees in the travel center is trying to start drama and that led to a rash decision by management despite our important and crucial money flowing into the business. I’m not going to speculate as to who it is although I have my suspicions.

I’m just going to gracefully walk away from a potentially toxic situation before we get another response so that we can still leave mostly on our own terms. I’ve loved the peace and quiet and the time we’ve had here for the most part. I’ve only had to write two or three weird stories about people doing strange things outside of our truck. For the most part, it’s been a breeze.

The travel center felt like a full-service home with a family of people who genuinely cared about us and who we cared about in return. We will be leaving with bittersweet feelings but with no hard feelings. I suppose the phrase, “It’s only business,” would apply here but makes no financial sense in the lost revenue.

I’m writing this tired, sore, defeated, but relieved at the same time. I’m thankful that we now have an ending date to this trying time at a travel center. As I’ve written before, we’ve wanted to leave for weeks, even at least a month at this point, but just keep getting thrown off of our goals by one thing or another.

Now we’ve got to hyperfocus and I’m hoping that we can beat the expectations and leave before the weekend so I don’t have to hear any more mumblings or sense any more looks from anyone who may wish to cause us unease.

This is a new chapter that’s about to begin and we’re excited to actually get to travel on the road now. More to come. I hope you join us again soon. From the road this time.

--

--

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
The Creative Collective

Gay, disabled in an RV, Cali-NY-PA, Boost Nominator. New Writers Welcome, The Taoist Online, Badform. Owner of International Indie Collective pubs.