WRITING/SUMMERTIME (AND THE LIVING ISN’T EASY)

Summer Is Getting in the Way of My Writing

And it’s not what you think

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
The Creative Collective

--

Photo by Chris Galbraith on Unsplash

The pun in my kicker was something I couldn’t resist. It’s just what’s been on my mind lately. Maybe listen to this as a backdrop to the rest of this article.

It’s been just under two weeks since I wrote my last article. It’s not like inspiration hasn’t been coming to me. I’ve had plenty to write about. I just haven’t been writing. I start to function differently in summer.

There’s something about the weather warming up that gets to me and makes me feel odd at times when I should be feeling good. This month, it’s been hotter than it had been the previous two summers. I’m feeling an obvious difference at that point.

Hot weather, oddly enough, especially when it’s very hot like it was a couple of weeks ago, can make me feel ill. While dealing with seasonal allergy-type symptoms and complications to my chronic pain through my skin condition flaring up because of the heat, my energy has been waning more than ever.

In the meantime, too, all of my free time and energy has been dedicated to a variety of things. I’m in a few writing groups to improve my craft. I haven’t published all of these drafts…quite yet. I also recently did a podcast interview with The Accidental Monster and eternallymortal. Thanks to them for the wonderful interview and to Robin Wilding 💎and Ben Ulansey for being there live in the audience during the recording. Obviously, if I’m busy doing podcasts and crafting drafts, that takes time away from actually writing and publishing more.

Then on top of that, I’m also constantly moving back and forth to the campground. I can’t claim that I’m out there enjoying the warm weather and the sun and scenery. I hate going outside. Being outside reminds me of all of the things that are wrong with me and my body lately. I see people outside biking and walking and playing.

I even saw a dude who was way bigger than me living his best life riding his bike around the campground. He was even shirtless, showing off those glorious tits, large enough to call the censors over accidentally, but again, I can’t judge that man for living his best life.

The point is, that I went from comparing myself to other writers to comparing myself to others who can do more than me and being limited by conditions outside of my control. And feeling limited by the conditions they find themselves more joyful. Ones that I can’t stand. Summer, to me, is such a bummer. That rhyme wasn’t intended, but it works. Maybe I should write another poem.

Maybe I have reverse depressive mood syndrome due to the weather but for hot instead of cold. Luckily, I have an air-conditioned environment in my RV but I can’t always be in there. Ideally, I’d want to go back to feeling energetic enough to write multiple stories a day. My mind and my body aren’t there anymore.

The summer is trying to consume me with its oppressive heat, humidity, and sunshine. Today, it’s cloudy but it’s 87. I don’t even want to look on my phone to see what the humidity is. With all of these clouds, I’m assuming it’s high. I’m trying and doing my best right now. If I don’t melt or fall apart first, I assume that I can get back on track this month and start writing again.

Summer and I have a complicated relationship and I want to break it off. But I’m pretty sure I have no choice in the matter unless I move to Siberia or something. For now, I’ll find ways to stay cool, and comfortable, and try not to let these challenges get in my way. I overcame my mental blockades, now I need to overcome some of these physical ones, and others not quite within my control.

Well, now that I’ve thought about it, at least I’ve got my first thoughts into a story for July. What has prevented or helped your writing this month? Can you relate to anything I’m going through right now or is summer just one, long delightful vacation for you?

--

--

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
The Creative Collective

Gay, disabled in an RV, Cali-NY-PA, Boost Nominator. New Writers Welcome, The Taoist Online, Badform. Owner of International Indie Collective pubs.