The Hypothetical Letter

To a Potentially Very Real Person

eternallymortal
The Creative Collective
4 min readJul 5, 2024

--

Photo by Martin Adams on Unsplash

A letter to a crush. What could you possibly say to a crush? A crush is a crush because of who they currently are, in that moment. That moment that you get to interact with them. What would be the purpose of a letter? What am I trying to accomplish with it? I could only say that I think they’re awesome. I don’t want to potentially pressure someone into thinking that they need to change some bits of themselves or their habits or personality to accommodate me in some way. Or, conversely, to be turned off by my feelings in such a way that it taints all of our previous interactions. Might make them think I was secretly trying to get something in those moments of smiles and laughter. So, I think the purpose could only be to try to share my positive experience of that person in the hopes that maybe it can help them see themselves more positively.

Hey REDACTED,

I know it’s weird to get a letter, in 2024. I mean, who even kills trees for correspondence anymore? When email has been a thing for 30 years already. lol.

So, I just think you’re pretty awesome. We’ve been doing the safety committee thing for a couple of years now and you’ve been so helpful and patient with me. We’ve had such a good few conversations about that topic and been able to bounce off of each other in a way that I found comfortable and happy! And, we’ve even been able to get close enough for me to hear a bit about your life outside of work! I don’t have a good enough memory to remember your kids names, or anything, but you can easily tell how you care for them when you speak. Sure, there’s some pain and weariness in there, too. That happens with kids, amirite? But, you’re heckin doing it. You’re maintaining a whole ass corporate job while also raising several kids. Was it 5 kids? am I misremembering that? I could be misremembering, but I know it was more than 1 kid and 1 kid has been almost more than I can handle.

You probably don’t know a heck of lot about me and that’s because I kinda hide myself from people. Usually, I don’t open up a whole lot unless someone asks. And, even then, I might somehow convince them to bring it around to themselves again. I never really think of myself as mysterious, because I think I’m so boring, but I guess I could come across that way. I’m usually just worried that people are going to be offended by stuff I say in ways that I can’t anticipate and I’ll end up hurting someone’s feelings. That’s kind of one of my biggest issues, these days.

I don’t know very much about you, either. But I do know you have the strength and ability to do the work and the family thing. I know that you care about doing things right and you also have the ability to find the path of least resistance to make things happen. That’s a balancing act that not everyone can accomplish. I know you can be empathetic and kind because of how you’ve treated me this whole time. I know you’re funny and have a beautiful laugh and smile.

I don’t want to dip into complimenting your appearance, because that seems like a topic that is only sometimes received positively, but I think your fashion sense is just amazing. Every time I see you, it’s in an outfit that looks like a higher class than everyone else I see in the day. And, I do think that you’re beautiful in so many ways, but I don’t want that compliment to come with any sense of responsibility. I only say this because there are tons of dudes out there that feel like they deserve some specific or general reaction when they choose to compliment people and I think that’s some bullshit. And nobody deserves that shit.

How long makes a good letter? Who can ever know? Every letter is different and it’s so dependent on who the writer and the receiver is. If you feel like responding to this letter via another letter, I will truly feel honored. You have the entire autonomy of a human and so if you choose to spend your energy in that fashion, it will mean a lot to me. A lot of unnecessary words, but the point of this whole thing is that I think you’re super cool. And no pressure to respond to it from me.

I hope you find smiles, this day! :D

--

--

eternallymortal
The Creative Collective

I am a person that will occasionally write stuff and put it on the internet. Thanks for asking! <3