Must We Believe Every Woman

Because I don’t believe Mia Farrow.

Jessica Lynn
The Rant

--

Ron Galella/WireImage.com

Woody Allen is one of my favorite directors. I studied his films in college, have seen Annie Hall more than 25 times as well as Manhattan and Crimes and Misdemeanors. Annie Hall and Crime and Misdemeanors are near-perfect films. I don’t think there is a Woody Allen film I haven’t seen several times. The name I gave my daughter came from one of the characters in one of his films.

These reasons aren’t why I have my doubts about the sexual abuse allegations against him.

At the time of the famous Allen v. Farrow custody battle in the early 1990s, I kind of paid attention to the accusations of child sexual abuse, but not really. I possibly read a People Magazine article at my dentist’s office once or skimmed a piece in a newspaper at one point.

Allen is accused of molesting his adoptive daughter, Dylan, at age seven, on one particular day in the 1990s at the actress’s Bridgewater, Connecticut home during a custody battle.

It never rang true to me.

I decided to watch the HBO docuseries, “Allen v. Farrow,” from directors Kirby Dick and Amy Ziering, a four-hour investigation of the allegations of childhood sexual abuse that aired this past Sunday night. I wanted to hear it straight from Allen’s daughter, Dylan. Maybe I…

--

--

Jessica Lynn
The Rant

Entrepreneur + Writer. Come join me in the creator economy. Get my eBook, How to Make Money on Medium. www.thrivingorchidgirl.com/ebook/. Hit FOLLOW ⤵