POETRY | FREE VERSE

No Fantasies Here

When the masks come off, the truth comes out

Ravyne Hawke
Ravyne’s Nest

--

I crave sweetened words
Dew-dripping sentences to tease and tantalize
To caress you in a bed of flowers
But all I get from you is sinew
Tough, fibrous words that muscle their way in

There are no sonnets here
No odes of adoration
Just verses that strip me bare
Leave me exposed with shame
Every slice of poetry has a bone in it

I can no longer give you fantasies
Reality has cursed my words
Created vinegar instead of wine
How I long for roses and sunshine again
But you’ve muddied my mind

You’ve stricken my Achilles
Handicapped my resolve
Forced me to this cliffside
Come, my tormentor — embrace me
Let me cradle you over the edge

© 2020 Lori Carlson. All Rights Reserved.

Lori Carlson writes Poetry, Fiction, Articles, Creative Non-Fiction and Personal Essays. Most of her topics are centered around Relationships, Spirituality, Life Lessons, Mental Health, Nature, Loss, Death, and the LGBTQ+ community. Check out her personal Medium blog here.

--

--

Ravyne Hawke
Ravyne’s Nest

Writing Coach, Poet, Fiction Writer, Essayist, Artist, Dreamer | “Enlightenment is when a wave realizes it is the Ocean” ~Thich Nhat Hanh