Aaron Trevino: The Art of Friendship and Strong Will

Collin Kerouac
The Raven Post
Published in
3 min readFeb 8, 2024

It’s 2021. I’m sitting in a classroom, socially distanced from the other students who decided to come in person. While we were sitting at school, exhausted from staring at our computer screens, one of my online friends began saying that dark lords are the best.

This ended up turning into a debate as I took the opposite position. Suddenly, this random student joins the debate and sides with my friend. I ended up in a heated argument with this student.

Aaron enjoys a nice day by chilling in his backyard.

That random student is now my best friend, Aaron Trevino. Over the course of 3 years, he would show many people how someone can be an amazing friend despite having to go through many hardships.

Aaron did not have an easy upbringing. He developed leukemia at the very young age of three (leukemia is a cancer of the blood cells). As he admits, “I didn’t understand the seriousness of the illness because I was too young.”

On top of dealing with cancer as a toddler, he also had to deal with family issues as well. The biggest being the divorce of his parents.

For most people, this would destroy much of the good in them. For most, this is when they would become bullies. For most, this is when depression would cripple them for years. However, Aaron is not most people.

Despite everything he went through and all the bad things he dealt with, he never let anything hamper his mental health or willingness to care for others. As he said, “For me, it takes a lot of effort to be a bad person. That just was never me.”

His willingness to care for others has translated into him being a very good friend. For instance, he has stayed up long into the night listening to me complain about the same things over and over again.

That’s not the only reason Aaron stays up late, though.

Aaron also connects with people and stays up late gaming. If he’s not doing schoolwork, watching his siblings, or sleeping, he is most likely online playing games with his friends. When asked about his passion for video games, he stated, “The hospital I was at for my cancer treatment had a gaming room with a PS3. That was the first console I played on. I’ve been hooked ever since.”

In fact, that’s how we really began our friendship.

After the debate between us began deteriorating, we managed to calm the situation. We connected through the game Fortnite and exchanged contact information.

Aaron (Left) at a Houston Texans game with his two best friends

Almost 1 year after first encountering Aaron online, we met in person for the first time. As time went on, we continued to hang out more and more both online and offline. Throughout our time together, Aaron has proven time and time again his strong friendship and will to overcome.

Written by Collin Kerouac

--

--