My Extraordinary Sister: A Role Model of Academic and Personal Excellence

Elizabeth Gonzalez
The Raven Post
Published in
3 min readFeb 5, 2024

Have you ever laughed so hard with your siblings that your stomach hurt? That happened to me and my sister Mariana once.

She was on a seesaw screaming, “One hand, no hands, one leg!” But before she could yell, “No legs!” she fell off the top of the seesaw. While she cried, I laughed until my lungs hurt. I think hitting her head might have made her a genius.

“Celebrating in Style: Mariana beams with joy as she’s surrounded by friends, love, and a delectable cake on her special day.” Photo: Elizabeth G.

Top of Her Class with Empathy to Match

With her vibrant personality and sharp intellect, Mariana leaves a lasting positive impression on everyone she meets. As one of the top students at Sci-Tech High School who excels across demanding courses, Mariana has earned acceptance to prestigious universities in Austin, TX. Her academic talents are matched by her empathy and kindness that radiate outward to help others in need.

Her ability to effortlessly understand concepts and apply them in practical ways is truly remarkable. With her vibrant personality and sharp intellect, she leaves a lasting positive impression on everyone she meets.

“Mariana has always been there for me when I’m having a hard time,” explains her mom. She’s a ray of sunshine with a personality that lights up any room she enters. When a family member needs help or a favor, Mariana drops everything to be there for them.

From a very young age, Mariana has displayed an exceptional aptitude for learning. But her achievements are not just academic.

As an IB student, she also possesses a special ability to think creatively, analyze information from many angles, and solve problems.

“I think it’s fascinating how she thinks and how her brain works,” explains her dad. We’re all in awe of how she effortlessly juggles complex concepts and priorities.

Even her friends admire her for consistently doing her best and taking on the intense rigor of being a full IB diploma candidate while also serving as her class valedictorian.

Mariana plans to study medicine, which is an enormously challenging career path. She worries about the competition she might face in the future, but this past year, her passion for healing others and thirst for medical knowledge have been increasingly evident.

Her outstanding academic record has helped her earn acceptance to top universities in Austin, TX. By keeping the valedictorian spot in her sights, she secured a place at prestigious institutions.

“She possesses a natural ability to help others,” observes one sibling. It’s like she has this intense sense of empathy and understanding. I can only imagine how impactful she could be in a career where she can fully utilize this innate talent, like as a physician.

So why do I call her “My Extraordinary Sister”? Well, she is my sister, and she has changed my life for the better by making me smile and paving the way for my future success. Mariana is one of my biggest inspirations. She makes her family and friends so proud.

By Elizabeth G.

--

--