The Reality Files #02

Morton Heilig’s Sensorama Simulator (1962)

Aki Järvinen
The Reality Files

--

This post is part of ‘Reality files’, a series where I read research papers that focus on immersive and multisensory technologies, such as Augmented Reality, Virtual Reality, Extended Reality (‘XR’), and Haptics. I intend to produce a chronological reading of at least 25 papers, from 1960s to the 2020s.

I have tried to choose papers that have been influential or focus on topics that I have identified as important while working with these technologies. I am also aiming at a diversity of authors and topics. A disclaimer regarding this selection is that I do not have access to academic journals behind paywalls, and therefore I have not been able to include some papers I would have liked to. However, I welcome readers recommending and/or sending me papers — thank you!

Sensorama is a seminal innovation in the history of immersive media and technology. It incorporated sight, sound, haptic, and smell into a multisensory interactive experience.

Flyer (link)

Watch Morton Heilig’s Sensorama Promo from late 1980’s on Vimeo

--

--

Aki Järvinen
The Reality Files

Technologist, PhD., aspiring Ethicist. Now Unexamined Technology on Substack. In my past, various immersive technology write-ups in The Reality Files, etc.