Windows on the World.

Your Eyes.

Cory Caplan
spacecadet.com: THE REALITY WAR
2 min readMar 23, 2016

--

We have lost our magic. It is real, but it is dying, and no amount of manically obsessive digital storytelling or manufacturing or science or drug is going to bring it back.

Explanation with words can help guide us back, but they also guide us astray.

It is not Pat Robertson, Edgar Cayce, or Edgar Allen Poe. It is not Tesla or Jobs. It is not Jesus, Muhammed or Buddha. It is not David Bowie. It is all of them, and none of them.

We are You, and We are Everything, simultaneously. And these words can barely begin to explain that relationship.

We can see ourselves, and the entirety of the universe reflected in each others eyes. And we have somehow forgotten, because the journey to see ourselves and each other has become nearly impossible for so many reasons.

We can find our way back.

Marina Abramovic and Ulay — The Lovers. In 1988 they walked the length of the Great Wall of China to meet each other in the middle and say goodbye. In 2010 they saw each other again for the first time

From ‘Rent’

Your eyes
As we said our goodbyes
Can’t get them out of my mind
And I find I can’t hide
(From )

Your eyes
The ones that took me by surprise
The night you came into my life
Where there’s moonlight
I see your eyes

How’d I let you slip away
When I’m longing so to hold you
Now I’d die for one more day
’Cause there’s something I should’ve have told you
Yes, there’s something I should’ve have told you

When I looked into your eyes
Why does distance make us wise?
You were the song all along
And before the song dies

Look me in the eyes and tell me I’m wrong.

--

--

Cory Caplan
spacecadet.com: THE REALITY WAR

The Space Cadet; A living humanity meets technology multimedia art project. Don't panic, you're already there. Coming soon: SpaceCadet.com & r/spacecadet