A Creative Tour of Vancouver, BC

Christine Hart
The Fragile Receptacle
5 min readAug 22, 2017
Source: Unsplash / Aditya Chinchure

Any creative in the 604 will tell you we have a love/hate relationship with the region. It’s an arts, fashion, and tech hub that draws us all in like moths to a (temperate-for-Canada) flame. But we’re quickly zapped by both real estate and labour markets.

Hence the attrition to our ranks as we age and drift out of the city into the fringe municipalities. I knew when I left the urban Metrotown neighbourhood in Burnaby for the cedar-rich suburb of Brookswood in Langley, I was making a trade that would be bitter sweet. Affordable and peaceful for me. Family-friendly for my kids. And totally cut off from the concrete jungle I loved. I try to sneak back as often as possible, even if I can only do it online most of the time. Greater Vancouver has influenced my fiction, my artwork, and in all likelihood, my world view. I draw inspiration from her eclectic boutiques and dedicated indie residents.

So, before I dive into the awesome districts, shops, and watering holes I miss so dearly, I should qualify this list by conceding the SFF slant to about a third of these picks. If you’re a sci-fi or spec fic nut, they’re a perfect fit. If not, there are still some great artsy haunts to discover. They’re not in perfect walking order, but then again, neither is Vancouver. I did manage to leave the outlying spots at the end though. Anything singled out for its own section is just that impressive to this artsy little writer.

Downtown Core

Sometimes there’s nothing more effective for getting the creative juices flowing than a crepe and a wander around the heart of Vancouver. As a young adult, I used to favour the retail stretch of Robson Street and the punkish (albiet still trendy) strip along Granville. Now, I try to keep my eyes peeled for gems like The Fall Gallery and USED House of Vintage.

Central Library

It’s a shame this epic landmark doesn’t pierce Vancouver’s iconic skyline like the Lion’s Gate Bridge, Science World, or the Harbour Centre. I get a curious sense of satisfaction every time I find this majestic brick and glass spiral as a set for film or television. Maybe even more satisfying than attending a book fair here as an author or finding my own first book shelved here. Maybe. Depends on the day.

Source: Wikipedia / Alex Ramon

Steamworks

I’m one of the many writers that concedes there is no way to get decent (ok, really any) work done while drinking. That doesn’t mean a nice fruity European beer has no purpose in life. And at Steamworks in Gastown, when you’ve got a harbour view to go with said ale, it’s hard not to be inspired.

Salmagundi West

If you’re like me and you like your weird wares with a side of the bizarre, do not skip a visit to Gastown, specifically Salmagundi West. Browse both levels of this amazing amber-scented treasure trove. Part art gallery, part antique shop, part crazy curio den; it’s 100% fantastic.

Chinatown

It took me a few years to stop comparing Vancouver’s Chinatown to Victoria’s. After all, spending two 5-year stretches in BC’s capital (once for Uni and once for a job) had me pretty convinced I knew which was best. But once I let go of the measuring tape, I spent many lunch hours wandering the beautiful blocks of East Pender between Abbott and Main. I discovered Erin Templeton, the Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden, and of course, the Millennium Gate.

MacLeod’s Books

Walk into MacLeod’s Books if you have more than a few minutes to spare. I’ve made the mistake of browsing during a lunch break and it’s never enough time. Come to think of it, I’m not sure how much time is enough time to uncover every title you’d want to take home from MacLeod’s. I recommend going it alone. The fewer bodies in the shop while you browse, the better.

Source: Pixabay / EliFrancis

West End

I’ve never been to New York, but for some reason, I picture neighbourhoods like Vancouver’s West End all huddled around Central Park. I could be way off. I’ll have to visit New York one day to know for sure. Until then, I can walk around the residential streets of the West End for a small clue as to what it’s like to actually live and work among high-rises.

Granville Island

No artist can visit Vancouver and miss out on a trip to Granville Island. It’s home to open studios, high-end galleries, and supply shops. Not to mention the prestigious Emily Carr University of Art + Design. If I went to art school, that’s where I’d want to go. It would probably crush what’s left of my self-confidence after years of writing, but I’m sure it could turn a longtime amateur into a skilled painter in a few years. It’s also worth mentioning that from the gelato to the glass beads, you’ll pay a premium for whatever you buy. But if you’re an art lover, it’s worth at least a look.

Kitsilano

I won’t sugar-coat this one, the stretches of West 4th and West Broadway that make up Kitsilano are hipster central. But I like that kind of thing, so I’m going to include this district on my list. Close to the ocean and UBC, it’s a great district for creatives to shop, dine, and generally hanging out. Two of my personal favourite stops are Miz Mooz on W 4th and Immersion Clothing on W Broadway. If you don’t feel ready to launch a best-seller after that … well, you’re probably being realistic, but it’s still a fun afternoon.

I Found Gallery

The artist/maker/crafter in me loves the vintage brass components and stampings at the I Found Gallery. The vintage clothing nut misses their original location (and now partner store under the same roof) True Value Vintage. Twice the awesome out of one stop.

The Storm Crow Tavern

Can any creative geeky type skip a pub that serves Romulan Ale? I think not! And I’ve actually had it, along with their Golden Apple of Discord cocktail (during a GoT screening!) and a few others. Next time — the Pan Galactic Gargle Blaster!

--

--