My Results for NaNoWriMo 2016

Christine Hart
The Fragile Receptacle
3 min readDec 1, 2016
Source: freeimages.com

Final Report: Did I finish a novel? No, I did not.

Did I get a lot of great work done and push myself to write as often as possible? Yes, I did.

My expectation for my first proper attempt at NaNoWriMo was that I would put a dent in a project, and that goal was achieved. I know that the demands of mothering two small children and maintaining a steady freelance gig would not allow me to write a quality novel in just one month.

One day, when my children are older and I have more evening and weekend time to myself, I will tackle NaNoWriMo again. I’ll start armed with an outline and an armful of optimism, just as I did this time.

It certainly didn’t do me any harm to try and fail this month. Can you really call it failure if you don’t finish the novel, but got a fair chunk done? I don’t think so.

To recap, here is what a month of NaNoWriMo FB updates looks like:

NaNoWriMo Day 1: A chapter, some outline progress, more worldbuilding; a good day’s work.

NaNoWriMo Day 2: Mostly editing yesterday’s chapter. But one more critical scene is ‘on paper’ now, so that’s a win.

NaNoWriMo Day 3: Freelance work + parent-teacher night = fiction fail. Back on the horse tomorrow folks!

NaNoWriMo Day 4: 11th hour update — half a chapter. Better late than never :)

NaNoWriMo Days 5 & 6: Supplementary worldbuilding and editing.

NaNoWriMo Day 7: First half of Chapter 3. Working title selected: The Quest for The Book of Ages (Chronicles of The Lost Ones Book 1). I’ll be switching to weekly updates from here on out, but not to worry, I’ll keep plugging away. I hope any other NaNoWriMo authors reading this post are doing the same!

NaNoWriMo Week 2: Trying a new genre, Fantasy in particular, has shown me I still have a lot to learn about fiction. This is a good thing. Worldbuilding is a painstakingly detailed process and I’m now convinced that rushing because of a deadline is the enemy of quality work in this area. So while I’ve wrapped the 4th chapter, I’ve also revisited my map, naming and developing where appropriate.

NaNoWriMo Week 3: I would love to start this update with a word count, but that won’t impress anyone, so I’ll simply say that while I’ve made progress, I can see the finish line getting a bit farther away than I’d like. I’m not discouraged, merely nudging my deadline past the end of November. Every time I re-evaluate where I’m at with The Quest for The Book of Ages, it feels stronger and stronger, as does the series as a whole.

NaNoWriMo Week 4: I’m pleased to confirm that I’ve made more progress (just started Chapter 8 specifically), although I wouldn’t say I’ve been able to write every single day. This particular November seems determined to waylay me at every turn. That said, my distractions are worthwhile (family and freelance) so I’m not too bothered. The Quest for The Book of Ages is still taking shape and I’m fascinated to see what the finished product becomes.

How did you do in NaNoWriMo? Win? Lose? Draw?

--

--