10 Things I’ve Been Meaning to Say to You — As Your Teacher

Alexandra Woods
The Reciprocal Teacher
5 min readSep 6, 2019

Tomorrow I begin using mentor texts as models for my students’ writing. Below, I have adapted Jason Reynolds’ “10 Things I’ve Been Meaning to Say to You” to demonstrate how mimicking mentor texts (sentence structure, ideas, transitions) can help us to understand and appreciate the craft of writing. Of course, this will go hand-in-hand with a lesson on plagiarism :)

Dear Reader,

If you are a student — and by student I mean a student at Adult High School, though other students aren’t excluded. Nor students-at-heart. Nor teachers. Nor anyone, for that matter. But I’m speaking primarily to students. Anyway, if you are a student, the following are 10 things I’ve been meaning to say to you:

1. I don’t believe teachers know everything. I know many teachers might say they do, even though they are learning as much as you everyday. As a matter of fact, teachers throughout history have been pulling the wool over your eyes, implying that they know A LOT more since you began going to school, only to redirect you or ignore you if you questioned their authority. What I do think, though, is that teachers take on this persona to get through their first day of the semester, but if they are not careful, they sometimes end up living and breathing this false identity for days, weeks, years, decades, and even lifetimes. And this is a problem. We are learners first, and teachers second. If we do not experience “growing pains” or imposter syndrome on a regular basis, and question our approach to instruction, and honour the knowledge and experience that our students bring to the classroom, we are not teachers. We can not teach if we do not know how to learn. So… ALWAYS remember your teachers are learners too. ALWAYS. And, support their growth and learning. And if you can’t, that’s okay. Then just model learning. Model it real good. Ask good questions. Support others in the classroom to grow and experience failure. And let them take it all in. Maybe even tag me them in a post about learning. But please, please, please don’t forget that they are learners too, and in a vulnerable state, like you. You don’t want to scare them.

2. There’s no way you will pass this class if you don’t read and write everyday. Remember this. Reading and writing is what this course is about. And you need to do it everyday at school AND at home. You can not become an engineer, mechanic, doctor, nurse, teacher, entrepreneur, if you can’t read and write.You can’t fight for women’s rights, and not be able to express your ideas. I know, I know, you can’t do everything. Except… you can do this. Accept… you can.

3. There’s a difference between present and being late. Remember this forever.

4. I know you have a lot going on outside of these walls. Families, jobs, and other responsibilities and challenges. I wish I could tell you that you don’t have to complete an assignment or test. I really, really do. But you have to. And you are strong and resilient and you will persevere. As a matter of fact, you already have and will continue to do so.. So, if you are feeling like you are juggling a million responsibilities, expectations and challenges — school, work, family, money, job-hunting, depression, trauma. — know that I know this, and that I am on your side and here to support your success, but you still have to put the time in to pass this class. This is a safe place where you can focus on you.

5. Speaking of putting the time in and working towards a goal, approach each learning opportunity with a growth mindset. Failure is the most important sign that you are learning! If you could do things perfectly the first time, there would be no point in being here. School is for learning! Not demonstrating what we already know.

6. Continue to connect with who you are outside of class and/or outside of this country, your religion, your job, your marriage, your role as single-parent, etc.). You are more than what you feel in an institution. Say this to yourself over and over. Express it. Breathe it. Know it. Be, be, be who you were meant to be, even if others don’t recognize you as such. Even if others have put you into a box. Because that box doesn’t belong to you, it belongs to them. And becoming who you are will help others to do the same. This is the power of becoming.

7. Speak your truth, walk your walk, find your voice. I sure did. Many of us did.

8. Remember getting there will take less time if you focus on putting one foot in front of the other. Yes, we all know the story of the Tortoise and the Hare, but I speak the truth. Slow and steady. Rushing through a course or language level seems like a good idea, it will get you a job faster, until your first day on the job and you are unable to communicate. I understand you are probably like…”let’s get this course over with!” But it’s not worth getting something over with that you will need to remember in the future. Stay. Here. As. Long. As. You. Need. To.

9. But when it comes to your goal, keep dreaming! Just take one slow and steady step at a time.

10. I like you. A lot. I know, that’s kind of cheesy way for a teacher to end something like this, but this thing was supposed to be 10 things I’ve been meaning to tell you, and I often tell you how much I appreciate your contributions in class, but I rarely tell you how much I like you. So… I like you. You’re critical, sometimes, and are known to protest marks on occasion, but, hey, so did I back in the day. So let’s start this one again, because I am your teacher and I want you to know that I like you. A lot. I really do. And this is your classroom as much as it is mine.

Original version posted by Jason Reynolds: https://www.powells.com/post/lists/ten-things-ive-been-meaning-to-say-to-you

--

--