Day 2: One World Project

Red Elephant Foundation
The Red Elephant Foundation
1 min readSep 15, 2018

A story on race, and activities to understand discrimination and its impact. An unplanned coincidence, in that today marks Nelson Mandela’s birthday.
A young man in class proudly announced the day’s significance, as he proceeded to read a letter he had written to his bully. “Was it something in you that made you a bully? Or was it because someone did something to you that you became a bully? Either way, I get it. I have just one question. Why me? I ask you to ponder over these things, as I am, while I write this.”

A poignant moment later, we went on to an activity that made them think about being reduced to labels and being singled out for a particular aspect of one’s identity. To quote one of the students, “We’re a box of chocolates. And we’re all equally delicious.”

--

--