Day 4: One World Project

Red Elephant Foundation
The Red Elephant Foundation
1 min readSep 15, 2018

--

Prejudice existed in pockets. Some were excluded by some for some aspect of their identities, and by some others just so they would fit in with the ones initiating the prejudice. An adaptation of Jane Elliot’s activity took the group by storm, and brought alive the gentle compassion that Atticus Finch showed Mrs. Dubose.

Empathy became more than just a word and an ideal to embrace. It became real. After class, one young man walked up to me, and told me, “I understand now, ma’am. Courage is to keep at it despite knowing that you’re licked before you begin. And I mistreated the most courageous ones I know.”

Atticus Finch smiled gently from inside the pages. There are Jem Finches everywhere.

--

--