What happened to the alarm clock industry?

A Story about the Pyramid of Technology.

Badis Khalfallah
The Red Fish

--

“man in silver suit holding alarm clock” by Mohammad Metri on Unsplash

Remember alarm clocks?

Remember falling asleep with the annoying ticking noise and excruciating bell sound in the morning that would wake up the dead?

Everyone used to own one.

Well, look around now.

It has disappeared from the bedroom of almost anyone owning a mobile phone.

And the question that crossed my mind was:

What the hell happened to that industry?

Trying to get healthier sleep, I recently decided to stop keeping and using my phone in my bedroom.

I remembered the good old alarm clocks and I went to the store down the street to get one.

They didn’t sell any alarm clocks….

Went to another one, a large supermarket.

They sold alarm clocks. But not exactly what I had in mind. They sold expensive LED screen alarm clocks with a projector that wakes you up with lights, music, or fancy “nature” noise…not really what I had in mind.

This is what I had in mind:

--

--