Favourite Siyanbola
4 min readSep 23, 2022

AN INTERNSHIP JOURNEY DEAR TO MY HEART

My journey into a career in PR was not exactly well planned, I had always known I wanted to do something in the communications industry, but I hadn’t thought properly about what exactly I wanted to do.

However, I was given the opportunity to start an Internship at Redrick PR. I had very little knowledge of how the world of PR works, but I was determined to give my best and learn on the job as much as I could.

From the start of my internship, I was welcomed with open arms by my team. I am grateful to have various supportive line managers who were very invested in my growth and believed in me, and an amazing boss who constantly pushes me to be the best version of myself in my career as well as my personal life. From lunch breaks to Taco Tuesdays and dinner after work, I got to know my team better as we shared a lot of stories and created new memories together.

The Redrick PR team has a distinct and supportive culture I highly admire. From the thought out Monday morning weekly meetings to the brainstorming sessions, everyone was always at the top of their work. Our weekly meetings had a dedicated time for appreciation and recognition, where the entire team would stand up and give a round of applause for the successful completion of a task led by a team member. This was such a unique way to motivate the team, especially since we were giving our best and working hard every day.

As time went by, my responsibilities grew significantly, and I got used to the fast-paced culture. Tight deadlines and quick turnaround times pushed me to become more agile and efficient at work and this also enhanced my analytical skills. Guided by my colleagues, I picked up many skills along the way and was able to quickly adapt to the various situations I faced. All of which I’m constantly learning from everyday. The liberty given to me to voice out my opinions on certain tasks also stood out to me, as I began to come out of my shell and drove certain conversations without the fear of my contribution not being good enough.

One of my biggest challenges was when I was handed over a whole Influencer Engagement campaign for one of the brands we work with. I was to entirely own a project and be in the forefront of communicating with everyone involved in the campaign from influencers to stakeholders and even vendors. I felt extremely honored to own and be entrusted with this project as it gave me the much needed boost in self-confidence I needed. However, I was initially uncertain if I could pull it off, since I only had started a while back and this was a highly demanding responsibility. With help from my line manager and colleagues I was able to work hard to make sure everything went smoothly with the campaign process from communicating with the influencers to being on site for the campaign content creation and monitoring and tracking every bit of content that went live.

It was one of the biggest moments during my internship journey, and I was grateful that all my hard work paid off. This experience taught me the importance of a growth mindset and reminded me that if you really put your mind to it, you can achieve anything.

As I transition into a new phase in my career at Redrick PR which I am incredibly excited about, I believe it’s important to express my gratitude and appreciation to the entire Redrick PR team who have played such an important part in my journey and I’ll always be thankful for everything I learned. To my boss who is always ready to listen and correct gracefully and to every one of my colleagues.

Cheers to a new chapter in Redrick PR!

Favourite Siyanbola is an Intern at Redrick and an avid communications enthusiast. She is also a major movie head.

Favourite Siyanbola

Favourite Siyanbola is a Junior Account Manager at Redrick PR and an avid communications enthusiast. She is also a major movie head.