Run your Race at Your Own Pace

Mide Afolabi
The Redrick Gazette
3 min readDec 10, 2020

“Comparison is the thief of joy”. Theodore Roosevelt, the 26th president of the United States said this over a century ago and it is still relevant today, increasingly so as we go through life. We are so quick to negatively compare our journeys to those around us, without considering that perhaps we are exactly where we are supposed to be.

Every day we are faced with copious amounts of content which mostly consists of celebratory moments: graduations, promotions, purchasing homes etc. and I believe that this has exacerbated our need to compare ourselves to others. And to what end? The issue with comparison is that it usually invokes negative thoughts and feelings, leading you to deviate from your pace and eventually your race.

Track 101

I used to be a pretty good track athlete, concentrating on short distances – the 100 and 200m, and with each distance I had a specific plan of action that helped me pace myself. With the 100m it made more sense for me to start off strong and create enough distance from my opponents with the first 20 -30m. With the 200m my best bet was always to run at around 75% speed for 90m, allowing me to increase speed and use momentum from the bend to propel me through the last 110m.

The worst race I ever had went wrong because I decided to modify my pace to resemble a successful senior athletes race pattern. Complete fail! I was completely burnt out in the last 50m and I came 2nd in a race that I should have come first in. I threw away months of training because I compared myself to someone else and adjusted my actions because I felt that I could speed up my progress if I followed someone else’s pattern. Rookie mistake.

Life Lessons.

Just to clarify there is obviously nothing wrong with admiring another person’s successes or looking at their processes and seeing where you can improve. Issues arise when you invalidate the experiences that have led you to where you are.

The ability to positively consider your current situation will provide clarity, and with this comes a strength to look at success or progress around you without acting rashly. Focus on what works for you and you will find joy in your pace – hopefully.

Moving forward.

Here are a few steps to help you ensure that you remain focused on your path.

Unplug: Zone out from social media, take breaks or delete all apps until you’re able to use them without being derailed. For all its uses social media can be energy sapping. Take a break.

Positive Affirmations: Say. kind things to yourself. As sappy as this may seem, studies have shown that affirming yourself with positive statements will help challenge negative and unhelpful thoughts.

And lastly, give yourself a break. On this path called life, we often forget that we need breaks to avoid burnout and to recalibrate ourselves. It’s easy to get sucked into a pattern of constant comparison if our minds are muddied and tired.

--

--