Go Medicine, Not-So-Young Woman

Christine Soon Desmarais
The Refined Problem Solver
5 min readNov 14, 2022

My mom immigrated to a new continent at 25. I am applying for citizenship to a new field 60 years later.

Apologies for the following biological disclosures, but Octobers are the stage for major milestones in this little lady’s life: first period, first uterine fibroid detection… As the colorful September leaves dance into October, I sincerely wonder what the year’s crop will bring, secretly voting for something fertility-related in the broad sense. A first solo photography exhibit? A fluke contract to develop and give a course? If so, in what field or area?

Back in high school, the path seemed crystal clear: Mathematics, Physics… The less traditional and the more masculine, the better! Biology, Chemistry? Beurk: too messy and complicated. Math and Physics are the obvious, well-organized tools suited to my spiritual quest for Life, the Universe and Everything... Heck, they might even land me a fun job with innovation and impact potentials!

Mom, bros, and a badass truck. I should go back to wearing bunnies on my pants. (Photo by dad, circa 1980.)

I am also very object-oriented. As a child I serenaded the family dishwasher with my toy guitar while affectionately calling him (oops, it — Freudian slip!) “Jimmy Jack”. I kept my first car for over 20 years. I still value my baby blanket…

Hence why this October’s epiphany washed over me like a pail of water spilled from a scaffolding I’d strolled under, unsuspectingly.

When — and how — the heck did the idea of applying to Medical School at age 49 pop into this I-love-Math-Physics-and-objects brain?

I write down happenings great and small. Yet sometimes, major pieces fly by, unrecorded. Thank goodness there’s web browser histories. I rewind back to early October: my first search for Medical School — applicant categories at Université de Sherbrooke. Shortly before that: https://www.ulaval.ca/mon-equilibre-ul/mes-habitudes-de-vie/coherence-cardiaque It’s coming back to me: friend Zbyszek (who suffers from MS) reminded me of cardiac coherence (breathing exercises.) I started practicing, three times daily. I felt better for it. More generally, I was impressed by these simple instructions found online. I mused how it would be nice to partake in the medical profession to conduct research, validate and share healthy techniques such as these…

Friend (and fellow science nerd) Anne-Marie, who got into Med School back in the days when you submitted your candidacy via physical mail (not long ago, kids), initially applied because she aspired to the credibility afforded her by the profession to conduct clinical research.

Credibility is also part of my Why. It took me 15 years to convince my mom to treat herself with an icepack after a fall… 20 years to convince my dad to dress in layers while hiking (to avoid sweating profusely.) I manage to get him to do exercises for his bent neck and back. But if a doctor tells my dad to take this or do that for the sake of his health, I know she has his ear.

I have had my fair share of difficulties in the workplace. Initially trained for a “desk job”, I spent several years working in computer programming. People were generally decent, and most projects interesting, but I was quite nervous and unsure of myself. A layoff or two later and I’d become downright anxious about work. So about 7 years ago, I decided to build my confidence from the ground up. I transitioned from intellectual to manual work, hoping the simpler (organizationally-speaking) tasks required of a manual worker would afford me space to develop my bread-earning aptitude…

i) Forays into residential construction and car mechanics reaffirmed my love of physical experience.

ii) With time, though, I came to miss the mental stimulation more typical of intellectual work.

iii) In the years since graduating from my “home country” of Engineering, I’ve really enjoyed interacting, and working with people.

To address i) and iii) (and some of ii), lately I have overcome stagefright, angst, some tears even(!) and begun instructing cross-country and downhill skiing. I’ve been training at the YMCA to become a fitness instructor. Still lots to learn (and to become more relaxed about!) But it’s been lovely, lovely, to share one’s love of glide sports and fitness with different folks…

To more fully address i) to iii), I’ve been considering Occupational Therapy, Physiotherapy, and Kinesiology. I even applied back in 2021, but “forgot” to send in my acceptance of the school’s offer. A possible explanation: I love to analyze. (Well, maybe it’s not love, more of a presumed path to survival, but we digress!) Therefore I tend to diagnose. I fear that if I engage in one of those other health roles, I will someday come across a diagnosis I disagree with, and find it very hard to stowe my personal assessment and “just do my job.” Too big a mouth is mine…

It finally, finally dawned upon me this October that if I am going to go back to school, then why not aim for the full nine yards, and apply to Medicine.

Patient zero. I hear so much better with my rimmed glasses! (Photo by one of my parents, circa 1977.)

This quest is far from over. The deadline for applications was November 1st. While by Oct 11th, I’d shared my plan with friends Roberta and Andre, I still had to verify whether I could sign up on time to write the situational judgement test (Casper.) Validate that my GPA was high enough to stand a fighting chance. Fill in CV sections at varying levels of detail for one, then two, and finally a third local college. Collect verifiers for the one college that required them. Hunt down official transcripts from bygone alma maters for another. Decode the French proficiency forms and send those in with the correct supporting documentation etc. I had to muddle through my lingering shock at this latest career and life choice twist, confront my good ole procrastination demons, and forge ahead even when a sub-deadline slipped by me.

There is no official age limit for applying, in 2022 Quebec. My reasoning is this: if Anthony Fauci of the CDC can work till 80 at such a big job, surely I can aim for 85 in a more modest version of the profession. If all goes well(!), I could put in just short of 30 good years, before I hit Freedom 85

Many reasons for going through with this. Many others not to (assuming I actually get admitted and send in my acceptance on time!)

In the next chapter, I unpack these reasons. One of the first things I did when the idea of career immigration hit me — other than interrupt my MD gal friends with strange questions and google for application specifics— is peruse the legal framework surrounding this noble profession:

What can, and can’t, a Doc do? Legally… scientifically… in the realms of health and wellness?

--

--