My current mood after a crazy, back-to-school year

Christine Soon Desmarais
The Refined Problem Solver
2 min readMay 15, 2024

Hi. Long time no write! It’s been a week since my last exam of my first year of med school as a middle-aged student, and I am a bit tired/overwhelmed, ha.

Does it have something to do with getting hit by a firehydrant-water-pressure-equivalent of information, sustained, for 8 months (topped with a 10-hour study blitz for the last exam, a couple days after a “med games” weekend which included a couple parties, oops!)

Combined with the external pressures of entering a profession people look up to a bit too much…

My two water bottles with comforting, hot water. My iPhone notes app on my laptop, ready to capture all manner of precious info from the lecturer. My mom’s delicious apple rosie. For nourishment on all levels…

And unexpected, internal pressure to perform academically, play nice, even “relax”… Kinda hard to do when for the better part of the winter months, you have to write an exam a week, and maintain a certain GPA, otherwise byebye med school.

The culture shock of peers several generations one’s juniors. Of a world dominated by women, in stark contrast to my familiar homes of engineering and construction.

The shock of having to memorize, whereas I’d always relied more on logic to get things done (med school, Chris… What were you thinking? That you could continue to rely on just the internet? Hahahahaha!)

All the while dealing with everyday, middle-aged concerns like, let’s see… Money, work, health, home, car, relationships?

I still require random naps, a week into this — how novel at this life stage! — “summer break”.

NON MAIS QUESSÉ QU’C’ÉTAIT QU’ÇA ?

Whadda heck wuz dat ?

I need to write/talk/mimic/perhaps utter a scream or two, to better digest this past school year. There was much to be stressed about. Alot of magical moments too.

Hopefully some good will come out of this, my upcoming therapeutic summer brain dump…

Stay tuned. :P

--

--