How To Improve Self-Efficacy: 21 Ways Achieve Your Goals

Research shows that people with high self-efficacy tend to stay the course and achieve their goals. Here’s how to nurture it in yourself and overcome challenge.

10 min readOct 11, 2019

--

It was 2000, and I started in business for myself for the first time. There was just me, a few tools, a 1990 maroon Ford Fiesta van, pockets full of naïve enthusiasm and an intention to make a mini dent in the world.

Before making the move, I had been working for a larger organisation — one of many cogs in a complex machine. And although I had earned my employer’s trust, and responsibility afforded to me, I felt hemmed in and restricted. Breaking away from their rules was liberating and empowering. Finally, I had the freedom to steer my own ship.

Work was thin on the ground at first. I had about two weeks planned ahead when I started. It wasn’t the most engaging or lucrative work in the world, but it didn’t matter. I had a mortgage to cover too, but that didn’t matter either. I loved the freedom I had gained and was motivated to be building something on my own terms.

Although I earned no right to assume it, I knew for some reason that things would work out. I felt nervous but excited, and in many ways, it was…

--

--

Larry G. Maguire
The Sunday Letters Journal

Work Psychologist & lecturer writing on the human relationship with work | Unworking | Future of Work | Leadership | Wellbeing | Performance | larrygmaguire.com